top of page

Community Support

Supporting the local population with medical care and funding projects has been part of SELAM since the beginning. We operate a low-cost outpatient and dental clinic for patients from the surrounding area. In addition, we are involved in several projects to promote women and award scholarships.

Addis Abeba

Outpatient and dental clinic

The SELAM clinic was established in 1988 with the financial support of the Swiss Confederation. SELAM's children and young people, trainees at the SELAM vocational training centres, SELAM employees and locals alike receive preventive care and medical treatment here. The clinic is managed by a doctor and has its own laboratory, pharmacy, X-ray machine, ultrasound machine and a dental treatment room. The clinic also provides advisory services to pregnant women and young mothers, as well as tuberculosis therapies.

The team from SELAM Germany is particularly involved in the dental clinic.

Klinik
Addis Abeba

Empowering women

We noticed that many young women were absent from school at monthly intervals due to having their period, which is why SELAM introduced a Hygiene Project.. In order to help young mothers return to work, SELAM provides a day-care center offer , as well as courses and micro-credit groups.  There has also been a handicraft workshop for older single women (“widow project”) for a long time. The women here create beautiful baskets of all shapes and sizes. These products can be purchased in our online shop.

DSC04571.jpg
150406_Lunch Projekt.jpg
Addis Abeba

Financial support

Many families outside the SELAM children's villages cannot afford the school fees. SELAM identifies these families and provides the children with a scholarship, which also includes school supplies, a school uniform and a free meal. There are also many children whose parents are able to pay the school fees but cannot always provide their children with lunch. Without any lunch, the children often struggle to concentrate or leave school early in order to beg or, in emergencies, steal. To counteract this, SELAM has set up the Lunch Project.

bottom of page

top of page

Aide au voisinage

Le soutien à la population locale à l’aide de soins médicaux et de projets de développement fait partie intégrante de SELAM depuis le début. Nous gérons une clinique de jour et une clinique dentaire à faibles coûts pour les patients des environs. Nous sommes également actifs dans plusieurs projets de promotion de la femme et attribuons des bourses d’études.

Addis Abeba

Clinique de jour et dentaire

La clinique SELAM a été créée en 1988 avec le soutien financier de la Confédération suisse. Les enfants et les adolescents de SELAM, les apprenants des centres de formation SELAM, le personnel de SELAM et les personnes du quartier bénéficient de services médicaux de prévention et de traitement. La clinique est dirigée par une femme médecin et dispose de son propre laboratoire, d’une pharmacie, d’un appareil à rayons X, d’un appareil à ultrasons et d’une salle de traitement dentaire. En outre, elle dispense des conseils aux femmes enceintes et aux jeunes mères et effectue des thérapies contre la tuberculose.

Dans le cas de la clinique dentaire, l’équipe de

 SELAM Allemagne est très impliquée.

Klinik
Addis Abeba

Promotion des femmes

Comme de nombreuses jeunes femmes s’absentent de l’école tous les mois en raison de leurs menstruations, SELAM a mis au point le Projet Hygiène. introduit. Afin de faciliter la réinsertion des jeunes mères dans le monde du travail, SELAM propose une offre de garderie d'enfants ainsi que des cours et des groupes de microcrédit. Depuis longtemps, il existe également un atelier d’artisanat pour les femmes célibataires âgées (« projet veuves »). De belles vanneries de toutes tailles et de toutes formes sont créées. Les produits peuvent être commandés dans notre boutique en ligne .

DSC04571.jpg
150406_Lunch Projekt.jpg
Addis Abeba

Contributions de soutien

Pour de nombreuses familles qui ne vivent pas dans le périmètre SELAM, il n’est pas possible de payer les frais de scolarité. Ces familles sont identifiées et SELAM offre aux enfants une bourse scolaire, qui comprend des fournitures scolaires, un uniforme scolaire et un repas gratuit. Il y a aussi beaucoup d’enfants dont les parents ont pu payer les frais de scolarité mais ne peuvent pas toujours leur offrir le déjeuner. Sans déjeuner, les enfants ont souvent du mal à se concentrer ou quittent l’école plus tôt pour aller mendier ou même voler. Afin de contrer ce phénomène, SELAM a mis en place le Projet Déjeuner.

bottom of page