top of page

Find out more about our work

SELAM began life as a children's home set up to provide holistic well-being to children in need. The aim was to help them grow up to become independent, confident and responsible adults. In the more than 35 years of its existence, SELAM has pursued this aim and helped thousands of young people find their way into a hopeful future.

 

In recent years, the children's home has been extended to include schools, a vocational training centre, a clinic and a number of projects to assist the local community. SELAM now has sites in four Ethiopian cities and thereby contributes to six of the 17 sustainability objectives of the UN's global development programme.

Unsere Programme
Our programmes

Our four main programmes allow us to support disadvantaged people in Ethiopia, no matter what their age or circumstances.

2020_Neue Kinder.jpg

Over the years, SELAM has developed a support model based on the principle of an extended family. In our two children's villages in Addis Ababa, children under the age of 15 live in family homes under the supervision of a matron. Teenagers aged 15 to 18 live together in single-sex families. At the age of 18, the young people leave the SELAM children's villages and live in residential communities supervised by SELAM social workers.

SELAM operates a kindergarten, two primary schools (years 1 to 8) and one secondary school (years 9 to 12), which are attended by approx. 2,900 children in total. The school enjoys a good reputation, in terms of both the quality of the education provided and its strong ethical values, the equal gender balance, the mix of ethnicities and the mutual respect shown despite different mental and physical abilities.

schüler2.jpg
151405_Elektrotechnik.jpg
IMG_8831.jpg

SELAM offers vocational training courses lasting up to four years and inspired by the Swiss dual learning system (30% theory and 70% practice). At SELAM's own industrial, agricultural and hospitality operations, the trainees can learn practical skills in nine different professions. SELAM also works with external companies to provide internship opportunities. Trainees learn the theoretical and practical foundations at our vocational training centre.

From the very start, SELAM has also endeavoured to support the local community. Examples include our outpatient clinic, day-care centre and various other projects to support women. 

DSC04571.jpg
Unsere Projekte
Our projects

We currently have three community support projects ongoing at SELAM, which you can support directly. 

SELAM im Überblick
An overview of SELAM

SELAM operates five sites in four different cities within Ethiopia. The two biggest sites, SELAM I and II, are located in the capital city Addis Ababa. Since 2007, SELAM has been operating an additional site in Southern Ethiopia, in Hawassa; since 2019 we have also been setting up another site in the east at Dire Dawa. In 2021, the Wukro Children Project in Wukro, Northern Ethiopia, was integrated into SELAM Charity Switzerland.

Nachhaltige Entwicklung
Sustainable Development Goals

Since the Millennium Assembly in 2000, the international community has been working towards a coordinated approach to combatting global poverty. For a long time, the focus was unilaterally centred around the development of poor countries in the Global South. Since 2015, however, the UN's 17 sustainability goals have been in effect. As the name suggests, the aim is to facilitate sustainable development for all the people on our planet. Development is deemed sustainable when, in addition to material needs, it also endeavours to provide a more equitable distribution of resources, environmental protection and fair trading conditions. In these areas, action is required on the part of the industrialised nations in particular. For their part, developing countries face the challenge of tackling corruption, cronyism and ethnic tensions. (FDFA / 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development)

SELAM supports the ethos of holistic development. We endeavour to use resources responsibly, to provide fair employment conditions and treat people equally, regardless of their gender, ethnicity or religion. Our programmes promote the development of young people in particular across various levels, such as nutrition, health, education and mutual respect, something that is reflected in the following six goals:

E_SDG_PRINT-01.jpg

Combatting poverty is one of SELAM's main objectives, whether through emergency aid, education, childcare provision or micro-financing.

E_SDG_PRINT-02.jpg

Over 400 children a year benefit from our Lunch Project when they attend school. Our day-care centre helps to ensure that infants receive adequate care and that mothers can return to work. During times of crisis, we distribute food to those in need.

E_SDG_PRINT-03.jpg

The SELAM clinic is available to children, school students, trainees and staff, but also the local population. Our Hygiene Project provides young women with hygiene products.

E_SDG_PRINT-04.jpg

The good schooling and vocational training provided by SELAM opens opportunities to our young people to get good jobs or become successful entrepreneurs.

E_SDG_PRINT-05.jpg

SELAM operates on the principle of equal opportunities for all. All our education programmes have always been open to all genders. Thus women are trained to become bus drivers, mechanical engineers or instructors, and men are able to work with children.

E_SDG_PRINT-08.jpg

SELAM emphasises a good working environment for its more than 700 employees, pays fair wages and provides employee benefits. Many of the former SELAM children have gone on to start their own companies and thus contributed directly to the country's economic development.

bottom of page

Lernen Sie unsere Arbeit kennen

SELAM hat als Waisenheim angefangen mit dem Ziel, sich um das ganzheitliche Wohlergehen bedürftiger Kinder zu kümmern. Sie sollten zu eigenständigen, selbstbewussten und verantwortungsvollen Menschen heranwachsen. SELAM hat in den über 35 Jahren seines Bestehens an diesem Ziel gearbeitet und tausenden jungen Menschen den Weg in eine hoffnungsvolle Zukunft ermöglicht.

 

Zum Kinderheim sind in den letzten Jahren Schulen, ein Ausbildungszentrum, eine Klinik sowie einige Projekte für die lokale Bevölkerung dazugekommen. SELAM hat inzwischen in drei äthiopischen Städten einen Standort und leistet damit einen Beitrag zu 6 der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele des globalen Entwicklungsprogramms der UNO.

Unsere Programme
 

Unsere 4 Hauptprogramme ermöglichen es uns, bedürftige Menschen in Äthiopien in jedem Alter in verschiedenen Lebenslagen zu unterstützen.

2020_Neue Kinder.jpg

SELAM hat über die Jahre ein Betreuungsmodell entwickelt, welches auf dem Prinzip einer Grossfamilie basiert. In unseren zwei Kinderdörfern in Addis Abeba leben die Kinder unter 15 Jahren in Familien-Häusern unter der Aufsicht einer Hausmutter. Teenager im Alter von 15-18 Jahren leben in geschlechtergetrennten Familien zusammen. Mit 18 Jahren verlassen die Jugendlichen die SELAM-Kinderdörfer und leben in Wohngemeinschaften, die von SELAM-Sozialarbeitenden betreut werden.

SELAM betreibt einen Kindergarten, zwei Primarschulen (1.-8. Klasse) und eine Sekundarschule (9.-12. Klasse), die von insgesamt ca. 2900 Kindern besucht werden. Die Schule geniesst einen guten Ruf, sowohl in Bezug auf die Qualität der Ausbildung, als auch auf die hohen ethischen Werte, wie Gleichwertigkeit der Geschlechter, der Ethnien, sowie die gegenseitige Achtung trotz unterschiedlicher geistiger oder körperlicher Leistungsfähigkeit.

schüler2.jpg
151405_Elektrotechnik.jpg
IMG_8831.jpg

Im SELAM werden bis zu vierjährige Berufsausbildungen, inspiriert vom schweizerischen dualen Lehrsystem, angeboten (30% Theorie und 70% Praxis). In den eigenen Industrie-, Landwirtschafts-, und Gastgewerbe-Betrieben können die Lernenden praktische Fähigkeiten in 9 Berufsrichtungen erlernen. Für Praktikas arbeitet SELAM auch mit externen Firmen zusammen. Die theoretischen und praktischen Grundkenntnisse werden ihnen an unserer Berufsschule vermittelt.

SELAM hat sich von Anfang an bemüht, auch der lokalen Bevölkerung Unterstützung zukommen zu lassen. Zum Beispiel mit unserer Tagesklinik, mit der KITA und diversen anderen Projekten in der Frauenförderung. 

DSC04571.jpg
 
Unsere Projekte

Aktuell haben wir 3 Projekte im SELAM, die zu unserem Programm Nachbarschaftshilfe gehören und direkt unterstützt werden können. 

SELAM im Überblick
 

SELAM hat in Äthiopien vier Standorte in drei Städten. Die beiden grössten Standorte, SELAM I und II, befinden sich in der Hauptstadt Addis Abeba. Seit 2007 hat SELAM einen weiteren Standort im Süden von Äthiopien, in Hawassa und seit 2019 ist im Osten, in Dire Dawa, ein weiterer Standort im Aufbau. 

 
Nachhaltige Entwicklungsziele

Seit dem Millenniumsgipfel im Jahr 2000 bemüht sich die internationale Staatengemeinschaft um eine koordinierte Bekämpfung der Armut in der Welt. Lange lag der Fokus einseitig auf der Entwicklung armer Länder im globalen Süden. Seit 2015 aber sind die 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UNO in Kraft. Wie der Name sagt, geht es um eine nachhaltige Entwicklung für alle Menschen auf unserem Planeten. Nachhaltig ist eine Entwicklung dann, wenn nebst den materiellen Bedürfnissen auch eine gerechtere Verteilung von Ressourcen, Umweltschutz und faire Handelsbeziehungen angestrebt werden. In diesen Bereichen besteht besonders bei den Industrienationen Handlungsbedarf. Andererseits sind Entwicklungsländer herausgefordert, Korruption, Vetternwirtschaft und ethnische Spannungen in den Griff zu bekommen.(EDA / Agenda 2030 für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung)

SELAM unterstützt den Gedanken der ganzheitlichen Entwicklung. Wir bemühen uns um einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Ressourcen, um faire Anstellungsbedingungen und Gleichbehandlung der Menschen, unabhängig von ihrem Geschlecht, ihrer ethnischen Zugehörigkeit oder ihrer Religion. Unsere Programme fördern die Entwicklung insbesondere junger Menschen auf verschiedenen Ebenen, wie Ernährung, Gesundheit, Bildung, gegenseitigem Respekt usw. welche sich in den folgenden 6 Zielen abbilden:

SDG_icons_DE-01.png

Armutsbekämpfung ist eines der Hauptziele von SELAM, sei es durch Nothilfe, Bildung, Kinderbetreuungsangebote oder Mikrofinanzierung.

SDG_icons_DE-04.png

Die guten Schul- und Berufsausbildungen von SELAM eröffnen unseren Jugendlichen die Chance auf eine gute Anstellung oder als selbständig Erwerbende erfolgreich zu sein

SDG_icons_DE-02.png

Von unserem Lunch-Projekt profitieren jährlich über 400 Kinder während der Schulzeit. Die KiTa trägt dazu bei, dass Kleinkinder richtig verpflegt werden und Mütter wieder einer Arbeit nachgehen können. In Krisenzeiten verteilen wir Nahrungsmittel an Notleidende.

SDG_icons_DE-05.png

SELAM lebt das Prinzip: gleiche Chancen für alle. Schon immer standen sämtliche Ausbildungen allen Geschlechtern offen. So werden Frauen zu Busfahrerinnen, Maschinistinnen oder Instruktorinnen ausgebildet und Männer steht die Arbeit mit Kindern offen.

SDG_icons_DE-03.png

Die SELAM Klinik steht den Kindern, Schülerinnen, Lehrlingen, dem Personal aber auch der lokalen Bevölkerung zur Verfügung. Unser Hygieneprojekt versorgt junge Frauen mit Hygieneartikeln. 

SDG_icons_DE-08.png

SELAM achtet auf ein gutes Arbeitsklima für die über 700 Mitarbeitenden, bezahlt faire Löhne und Sozialleistungen. Viele der ehemaligen SELAM-Kinder haben eigene Firmen gegründet und so wesentlich zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung des Landes beigetragen.